Veterans’ Honorary Service Cards^
To obtain a Veteran's Honorary Service card, Veterans must
fill out an application, and present a copy of their Separation Papers from Active
Duty (DD-214 Form) or the WSAGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553 or NAVMC 790, along with valid photo identification. Veterans can also verify with our office
if their service records are already on file with the county. There is no charge for filing military service records or for the issuance of
The following licenses and certifications are issued and/or administered by the Office of the County Clerk:
Fireman’s Exemption ^
A Fireman’s Exemption Certificate allows the holder to hawk or sell goods or merchandise within the State of New Jersey without the need to
apply for any additional peddler’s license. (Chapter 133, page 190 of the Sessions Laws of 1911 for the State of NJ). The Fireman’s municipality
will send the Exemption Certificate to the County Clerk’s office, where it will be recorded at no charge.
Physician License Registration ^
As a licensed physician practicing in Bergen County, you are required to register your medical license with the County Clerk’s office. You may
register your license in person or by mail. You must provide this office with a “Certified Copy” of your Medical License, issued by the State
Board of Medical Examiners in Trenton. After filing, the physician will receive a certification of the license registration, indicating a book
and page number and file date. The license must be signed by the physician and a “record and return” address must also be provided. The filing
fee is $25.00.
New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners
Document Management Unit
P.O. Box 183
Trenton, NJ 08625
Veteran Peddlers License^
A Veteran Peddlers License is issued by the County Clerk’s office in the county where the Veteran currently resides. The license allows the
holder to hawk or sell goods or merchandise within the State of New Jersey without the need to apply for any additional peddler’s license. The
requirements are as follows:
- Applicant must bring in his or her Military Separation Papers (DD-214).
- A copy of the discharge papers will be sent to Trenton for verification of service.
- After Military service is verified (usually within 3-4 weeks), the applicant will receive a call from the County Clerk’s office to come in to
pick up the license.
- Two (2) duplicate 2” x 2” photos of the veteran are needed. You may bring your own photos, if you have them, or have them taken – free of charge
– at the County Clerk’s office.
There is no charge for this service.